Followers

Saturday, October 11, 2025

 


The Cloister at Sea Island was built in 1928 by automobile magnate Howard Earle Coffin, who envisioned it as a luxurious, yet laid-back resort, designed by architect Addison Mizner in a Spanish-Revival style whose previous work on other luxurious properties in Palm Beach, Florida helped establish the Spanish-Revival architecture that defines The Cloister.  Despite local skepticism about the "swampy, mosquito-infested" land, The Cloister was an immediate success attracting guests from the entire Eastern seaboard. The hotel gained national attention when President Calvin Coolidge visited in December 1928. 

Despite initial doubts about the location, the hotel quickly became a popular destination, hosting numerous dignitaries and U.S. Presidents having hosted the G8 Summit in 2004.  It has undergone significant redevelopment, including a $350 million rebuild in 2006 and continues to operate as a Forbes Five-Star hotel known for its authentic Southern hospitality.

In 1926, Automobile magnate Howard Coffin purchased Sea Island, intending to develop it into a vacation spot.  In 1928, Coffin, along with Bill Jones, opened The Cloister, initially as a modest inn.

Howard Earle Coffin

(1873-1937)

Coffin was an American automobile engineer and industrialist.  He was one of the founders of the Hudson Motor Car Company with Roy D. Chapin on May 25 1909. He retired from the Hudson Motor Car Company in 1930 though acted as a consultant.



On July 4, 1954 the Hudson Motor Car Company ended its car production though many fine vehicles were produced and came off its assembly line.













Wednesday, October 8, 2025

 


Rehoboth Beach is a popular coastal town in Delaware on the Atlantic Ocean in eastern Sussex County known for its boardwalk*, beaches and family-friendly attractions.  It's a vibrant community with a mix of tax-free shopping, diverse dining options and outdoor activities such as biking and hiking in nearby state parks.  Often called the "Nation's Summer Capital" it attracts visitors from nearby areas and beyond, offering a lively atmosphere with historic charm.

*The boardwalk, now a mile long, was originally built in 1873 on high ground between the beach and Surf Avenue which ran the full length of the oceanfront.  Many storms have changed the boardwalk's configuration over the years.  In 1914, a storm destroyed the boardwalk, pier and pavilions.  Surf Avenue was washed out.  In 1992, the boardwalk was again substantially destroyed by a January nor'easter.  It was rebuilt in time for the summer season. 






Dolle's Candyland was established in Rehoboth Beach in 1926.  It moved to its present location at the corner of Rehoboth Avenue and the Boardwalk in 1927 after the co-founders Thomas Pachides and Rudolph William Dolle (1893-1968) purchased the old YMCA building for the princely sum of $30,000.  It was here the legendary candy store was born.  From then until now, this landmark truly hand makes all their candies and chocolates. 



Taffy Original Flavors:  vanilla, peanut-butter, chocolate, peppermint, spearmint, strawberry, lemon, lime, orange, blueberry, licorice and banana.

Taffy Additional Flavors:  mango, watermelon, raspberry, coffee, pina colada, green apple, molasses, cotton candy, root beer, chocolate peanut-butter, wild cherry, pineapple and grape. 

The most popular salt water taffy flavor is vanilla, cotton candy and banana.


Boardwalk by Midnight


Images of America

Written by Anna Dolle Bushnell, who continues her family tradition with over 200 photographs of Dolle's 110 year existence on the boardwalk of Ocean City, Maryland and Rehoboth Beach, Delaware.  A fourth-generation family member tells the full story of this beloved business, from its humble beginnings in 1910 to its status as a seaside institution.  This book is a sweet trip down memory lane for anyone who has ever tasted a piece of Dolle's famous candies. 

Each copy will be signed; however, if you'd like your book to be personalized further, please include your request in the "comments" section of your order.

https://share.google/MoaoiGvfsQDJV26oN





















Monday, October 6, 2025

 


The Original Brown Derby 

Built in 1936

Photo Circa 1956

3427 Wilshire Boulevard

Los Angeles, California 


The Brown Derby was a chain of restaurants in Los Angeles.  The first and best known was shaped like a derby hat, an iconic image that became synonymous with the Golden Age of Hollywood.  It was opened by Wilson Mizner in 1926.  The chain was started by Robert H. Cobb and Herbert K. Somborn (a former husband of film star Gloria Swanson) in the 1920s.  

The original Brown Derby opened February 1926.  Novelty architecture was in vogue and the restaurant was designed to catch the eye of passing motorists.  It was founded by Wilson Mizner (brother to Addison Mizner) as a small cafe across the street from the Hollywood hot spot, the Cocoanut Grove at the Ambassador Hotel.  Wilson was the front man and sat in both #50 almost every day.   Somborn owned the property and Jack L. Warner put up the money.  Warner was president and the driving force behind the Warner Bros. Studios in Burbank.  

The origin of the Cobb salad is a subject of much debate, but it is widely believed to have been created by Robert H. Cobb, the owner of the Brown Derby restaurant in 1937 along with theatre magnate, Sid Grauman to satisfy a late-night urge for a snack. Legend has it that one evening, after a long day, Cobb wandered into his restaurant's kitchen at midnight, hungry and looking for a quick bite which was a way to use up his leftovers such as lettuce, bacon, eggs, avocado and tossing them with a house-made French dressing. It became a staple and the rest is history!  Though there are several variations of the Cobb salad, the Hollywood Brown Derby way is to finely chop all the ingredients, likely making this the original chopped salad.  The dressing is called "French dressing", but really its a simple vinaigrette.





The Brown Derby is famous for its walls of caricatures of famous stars who ate there in the heyday.  If you are a foodie and appreciate even just a little history, make sure you try The Hollywood Brown Derby next time you're in Orlando.  



The Hollywood Brown Derby
351 S. Studio Drive
Lake Buena Vista, Florida 
(inside Disney's Hollywood Studios at Walt Disney World Resort)



The Derby cocktail comes with a glow cube you take home!





Museum of Neon Art
216 S. Brand Blvd.
Glendale, California

The original Brown Derby sign is now housed at the Museum of Neon Art. Younger generations might not be familiar with the sign's full importance, but its presence at MONA ensures its legacy continues.  MONA currently holds 250 signs and exhibits 28 electrified signs in the "Neon Boneyard".

Another famous neon sign at MONA once appeared at Grauman's Chinese Theatre.







Sunday, October 5, 2025

 





Aerial photograph 
Circa 2012


The Hollywood Bowl is an amphitheatre and public park in the Hollywood Hills of Los Angeles, California.  It was named one of the 10 best live music venues in the United States by Rolling Stone magazine in 2018 and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023.

The Bowl was opened July 11, 1922 with conductor Alfred Hertz and the Los Angeles Philharmonic.  The Bowl was renovated 2003-2004 with a seating capacity of 17,500.  It is known for its distinctive bandshell design, originally a set of concentric arches that graced the site from 1929 through 2003, before being replaced with a larger one to begin the 2004 season.  The shell is set against the backdrop of the Hollywood Hills and the iconic Hollywood Sign to the northeast.

The "bowl" refers to the shape of the concave meadow or dell, originally called Daisy Dell, into which the amphitheatre was carved.  The BOwl is owned by the County of Los Angeles and is the home of the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra, the summer home of the Lose Angeles Philharmonic and the host venue for hundreds of musical events each year. Located on North Highland Avenue, it is north of Hollywood Boulevard.

In 1951, a financial crisis closed the Hollywood Bowl during its summer season.  Dorothy Chandler chaired a committee that organized a series of fundraising concerts that was able to reopen it. 

The Beatles performed in 1964 and 1965 which resulted in the live album The Beatles at the Hollywood Bowl that was released in 1977.  On August 22, 1971 The Jackson 5 performed at the Hollywood Bowl.  On September 7, 1973 Elton John performed at the Hollywood Bowl. On May 13, 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic the entire sason of film screenings and concerts was cancelled for the first time. On November 15 and 17, 2023 Mariah Carey performedtwo sold-out shows as part of her 2023 holiday tour Merry Christmas One and All!



The Hollywood Bowl depicted in terrazzo in front of Clifton's Cafeteria in downtown Los Angeles




July 4 Fireworks Spectacular
Circa 2010










Saturday, October 4, 2025

 


and its short-lived reflecting pool



The Reflecting Pool reflection created this image by the way it reflected the Bowl's concentric circles.



The Reflecting Pool
Circa 1953-1972

From these years, the Hollywood Bowl had a half-moon shaped reflecting pool in front of the stage.  It also came with dancing waters and an elaborate fountain that entertained audiences during the intermission.  They dismantled it because the moisture wreaked havoc with some of the musical instruments.  


Of all the experiments in the Bowl design over the last century, none has inspired more than the 100,000 gallon reflecting pool that once separated the artists and audiences like a moat.  



The iconic reflecting pool under mid-construction.
Circa 1953



The Bowl site's proximity to downtown Hollywood and its magnificent natural acoustics made the name, bowl an obvious choice.  It was around this time the arena got its name the Hollywood "Bowl" thanks to the natural curve in the hillside where the seats are located. The Hollywood Bowl is the first amphitheater in California to be certified as an Audubon Society Coooperative Sanctuary.  The Los Angeles Philharmonic Assocation and the Los Angeles County are partners with the Hollywood Bowl.















Friday, October 3, 2025

 

The Muse Sculpture under construction

2301 Highland Avenue 

Hollywood Hills Los Angeles, California 

Circa 1939




Muse Sculpture at the Hollywood Bowl entrance
Photo taken on the dedication night.
Circa July 8, 1940



Interesting photo that doesn't show water cascading nor 
is the Muse of Drama positioned in the alcove location to the left.



Built into the curve and slope of the surrounding hillside, the 1,000 ton structure practically disappears into the landscape. At one point in its history, it almost did. Though you might not even notice the structurre on your first or second visit to the Bowl once you stop and really take in sculptor George Maitland Stanley's 1940 Streamline Moderne masterpiece, you can't help but be drawn to this deceptively simple monument to the power of art.

Although the Hollywood Bowl officially opened on July 11, 1922 it wasn't until July 8, 1940, that this sculpture known as "The Muse of Music" was added at the entrance, the day before the opening of the 19th season. Twenty-two feet high, 200 feet long and made from 300 tons of granite covered with decorative granite slabs it depicts a kneeling woman holding a harp, symbolizing the arts celebrated at the Bowl.  On either side and below are smaller figures or "sisters" representing the Muses of Dance and Drama. The sculpture was constructed between 1938 and 1940.  It serves as the official gateway to the Hollywood Bowl and was a large-scale W.P.A project (Works Progress Administration) Federal Arts Project that began constructing it for the Great Depression-era reflecting optimism for the enduring nature and power of art.  

The sculpture was heralded as one of America's most ambitious art projects in 1939 when artists and craftmen were hired by the federal government.  The project was led by Charles Toberman, the real estate developer of such Hollywood landmarks as the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel and Grauman's Chinese Theater.  Toberman was president of the Hollywood Bowl Association for one season in 1923 and then from 1934 to 1950, and he petitioned the W.P.A in 1938 for the funds to build the fountain, as well as a tearoom and restrooms.  In 1937, Toberman used $125,000 in W.P.A. funds to hire sculptor George Stanley.  He asked Stanley to build a work of public art, which he called a "fountain complex" to mark the Bowl's entrance. 

With the help of Los Angeles County Supervisor John Anson Ford*, Toberman got the project approved at the end of 1938. As sponsor, the county provided $1,000 for the materials and through the W.P.A. the federal government granted $100,000 for labor and construction.  The Fountain was an immediate success as the gateway to the Bowl, quickly becoming an icon celebrated on posters and postcards.

Time was not kind to the Muses, however.  In the early 2000s, pollutants and bird droppings eroded and discolored the surface of the sculptures and mineral deposits built up in the fountain pools. Weeds began to overgrow the fountain and the Bowl's managers, lacking the funds to do a proper restoration, planted hedges to cover up the statue which had become more of an eye-sore than an icon.  In the 1990s, George Stanley's son, Maitland, lived in San Francisco.  Once a year, he would drive down with his family to visit his favorite of his father's works, bringing gardening shears to cut back the shrubs growing over his father's name which was etched into the fountain's base. 

In 2006, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the county and the Hollywood Bowl completed a major reconstruction project on the fountain, carefully restoring Stanley's design to its original luster adding modern waterproofing and plumbing upgrades.  Maitland was in attendance for the second unveiling. At the unveiling, Maitland spoke these words ..


People aren't gonna believe that that enormous thing has been there this whole time!

Maitland Cotton Stanley 


Not only was the Muse restored, but it became a defining structure for the Bowl, architecturally.  And as the Bowl approached its 100th season, the restored and fresh-faced muses were poised to greet artists for years to come.

Designed by George Maitland Stanley (1903-1970) the sculpture was carved by Stanley, an American sculptor and a crew of stone cutters quarried near Victorville, California between 1938 and 1940.  Cedric Gibbons (1893-1960) designed the Oscar statuette in 1928, but tasked the sculpting to Stanley.  

 Stanley, the 35-year-old artist selected for the massive fountain had worked on projects across Los Angeles, but he was best known for one of his smallest designs: the 13 1/2 inch Oscar statuette which he created at the behest of MGM art director Cedric Gibbons for the first Academy Awards in 1929.  

Born in Louisiana, Stanley began drawing at the age of three.  After moving to central California with his family, he came to Los Angeles to study at the Otis Art Institute, whre he ultimately ended up teaching for over 20 years.  It was there that he found his calling in sculpture and he subsequently went to the Santa barbara School of the Arts to study bronze casting.  After returning to Los Angeles, Stanley began to receive commissions for architectural carving and bas reliefs, both for private homes and for commercial and public buildings such as the Griffith Observatory where he was one of six sculptors contributing figures to the Five Astronomer's Monument, a Public Works of Art Project in 1934.


Five Astronomers Monument

Unlike the Observatory, a paragon of Art Deco design, the Muse statue at the Hollywood Bowl entrance belongs to a lesser known off-shoot of Art Deco, Streamline Moderne with simpler, more grounded, more horizontal and more utilitarian in design. Moderne reflects the decade of the 1930s, as Americans found ingenious ways to economize without compromise. 

For the Hollywood Bowl Fountain complex, Stanley designed the three heroic sculptures in an Art Deco style.  The central figure shows the kneeling Muse of Music playing a lyre (an ancient, harp-like stringed instrument). The Muse of Dance is posed mid-movement and the Muse of Drama holds the theater masks of comedy and tragedy.  These figures were placed on a tiered fountain made from 1,180 tons of concrete and faed with more granite.  Stanley envisioned the sculpture as both an entrance to the Bowl and to all of Hollywood, a city working to define itself as a creative and artistic capital. 


Built against the backdrop of the Great Depression and with war threatening to engulf the world, the Muse of Music, Dance and Drama embodied the city of Los Angeles' resilent optimism that music and art would endure in difficult times.  

As thousands of Angelenos pour into the Hollywood Bowl, most will pass beneath the kind and watchful gaze of the three muses, perched atop a Streamlined Moderne four-tiered fountain illuminated by dozens of lights hidden inside at the North Highland Avenue entrance in the Hollywood Hills area of LA.


George Stanley's Muse of Music, Dance and Drama alit at dusk

https://first100years.hollywoodbowl.com



Muse of Music


Muse of Dance



Muse of Drama


*Ford cited the Muse as an example of the good that can be achieved when people work together for a common cause.  He quoted, as he often did, his favorite author, Edward Everett Hale:  Look outward and not inward upward and not downward forward and not backward and lend a hand. Ford went on to add:  "To me, that is the important thing for the future of Bowl history .. to lend a hand. Ford saw to it that all the construction workers and artisans who lent a hand on the project were given free tickets to attend the Bowl that summer.

Streamline Moderne identifies the Hollywood Bowl's prevailing aesthetics.  If you look around the Bowl today, you will see horizontal lines, rounded corners, natural embedded lighting.  All these touches come directly from Stanley's creation and now give the Bowl a real Hollywood heyday vibe. While it was built as a testament to the muses of music, dance and drama, George Stanley's 1940s creation has become a muse unto itself, inspiring years of redevelopment at the Bowl and delighting the thousands of audience members and millions of drivers who pass by it every day .. if they happen to notice it. 


Sidenote:  If I lived in LA and drove by George Maitland Stanley's 1940 creation, I would notice it and would stop to take photos.  Thank you George Maitland Stanley for your creation and to Maitland Cotton Stanley (1927-2009) for making us remember and restore your father's creation that was once hidden from view.