Followers

Friday, March 20, 2026

 


The Biltmore Hotel

150 Bradley Place

Palm Beach, Florida


Built in 1926 as a boutique hotel for $7 million by winter Palm Beach resident, Gustav Maurice Heckscher, the Alba Hotel was a grand 12-story, 550-room Palm Beach landmark designed for wealthy socialites.  Heckscher had developed properties in California and named the new hotel after his polo-playing friend, the Spanish Duke of Alba. The Duke was supposed to have attended the grand opening, but records show he didn't.  But who cared?  A Who's Who was still present.  

While Eva Roberts Stotesbury along with Paris and Lillie Singer, among others, helped with activities among the older crowd, Stotesbury's son from a previous marriage to Olver Eaton Cromwell, by the name of Jimmy Cromwell, who later married the richest-girl-in-the-world, Doris Duke caroused with a younger A-list group in the Alba's Isabella dining room and Muleteer Grill. Throughout its hotel years, it hosted famous visitors including the Duke and Duchess of Windsor and President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

The Alba was the talk of the town.  Unlike previous wooden Palm Beach hotels that succumbed to fire, it was a fortress of stucco, reinforced concrete and quarry-key rock. Though however robust its structure, the Alba Hotel wasn't strong enough to weather the financial crisis that lay ahead.  By the spring of 1926, the hotel was bankrupt as Florida's land boom began to bust.  By 1927, under new ownership, it reopened as part of the national Ambassador Hotels system and would be renamed The Ambassador. 

The Alba Hotel 

Circa 1920s


In 1934, under yet another owner, the name changed again and this time it stuck:  The Palm Beach Biltmore which drew guests equally as prominent as before.  Then everything changed all over Palm Beach.

The island in the early 1940s remained a resort town as ever, but one on wartime footing with a local Civil Patrol and numerous periodic blackouts as German U-boats lurked offshore during WWII.  The Breakers was pressed into service as an Army hospital while locals opened their homes to provide meals and comfort to servicemen stationed in the area.

At the Biltmore in 1943, "elaborate furniture and most everything else that once represented civilian luxury and comfort at the hotel had been removed in favor of austere double-decker cots, plain scant furniture and rigid discipline" a visiting Miami News reporter wrote.

Until February 1945, the nation's largest indoctrination and training center for the U.S. Coast Guard Women's Reserve was at the Biltmore.  Not long after, the Biltmore served as a U.S. Naval convalescent hospital with a doctor and nurse staff with rooms for 1,400 patients.


Circa 1943-1944

After the war, the hotel underwent other ownership changes, first with Hilton Hotels of America which lightened and brightened the building's Spanish theme dating from its Alba Hotel days. A new lounge was added called the Cascades along with a party room called Fiesta.  

By 1970, insurance magnate and philanthropist John D. MacArthur had bought the Biltmore for a reported $1.5 million after the previous owner filed for bankruptcy and closed the hotel which then temporarily lost its occupancy license. MacArthur was a force in the area.  He had already made a fortune investing in Florida real estate and by the mid-1950s alone, he reportedly had purchased hundreds of acres in today's Lake Park, North Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens and more.

Surely, he'd breathe new life in the Biltmore though after tussling with town leaders over what the building's future would look like and also suffering health issues, MacArthur put the property up for sale.  On more than a few occasions, he made it clear there was a contingency:  If you want to buy it, no demolishing the building.

It wasn't until 1975 that a sale gelled:  Stanley J. Harte, a developer with a local sensibility, paid $5.3 million for the Biltmore property.  He planned to convert it all into condominium apartments. Since that time,the residences have been fully renovated and remodeled to reflect the chic South Florida style. Condos at the Biltmore offer two bedrooms, two bathrooms with approximately 2,000 square feet of indoor living space.  Common appointments include marble floors, 10-foot ceilings, custom cabinets, gourmet kitchens, ample storage, private balconies, laundry rooms, floor to ceiling windows, impact resistant glass plus high-end fixtures and furnishings.


"Its high time that the unpleasant sight of a beautiful building deteriorating before our very eyes should be stopped and its beauty restored to the fullest extent."

Stanley J. Harte


The 128-unit Palm Beach Biltmore Condominiums debuted in 1981 when Harte received an award from the Palm Beach Daily News.  "In simple terms, Mr. Harte's history in Palm Beach is written in the promises he made and kept" the Daily News then-publisher Agnes Ash said at Harte's winning Business Leader of the Year,

Back then, a one-bedroom condo might sell for $105,000. Today, units which include up to four-bedroom residences, start at significantly higher price points, of course.  A recent online search showed condos there with asking prices ranging from $3.975 million to $9.25 million. Amenities include a doorman and concierge service, an onsite building manager and other staff, as well as party rooms, gardens, a heated Olympic-sized saltwater swimming pool, private cabanas, locker rooms with infrared saunas, two Har-Tru tennis courts, bike and jogging trail, fitness center, conference rooms, on-site security, courtesy bus, valet and boat slips in the Intracoastal Waterway.  Nearby on Sunset Avenue is the Biltmore's beach club with a restaurant. It also offers a Grand Salon for grand parties.

Residents appreciate the deep dock access, private beach club and restaurant.  With its central location, residents of the Biltmore are never short on things to do.  From casual social events to black tie galas, the Palm Beach area is a mecca for charitable fundraisers, theatrical performances, symphonies, ballets, upscale shops, polo matches, championship golf courses, fishing excursions and equestrian events.


The historic building is situated on the lakefront just over a block north of Royal Poinciana Way facing the Intracoastal Waterway.  Opening in February 1926 with major society fanfare, it was built by a 1,400-member crew on the site.  Despite its luxurious debut, the hotel went bankrupt by May 1926 coinciding with the collapse of the Florida land boom through it continued to operate.  Known briefly as The Ambassador (1929) before being acquired a renamed the Palm Beach Biltmore by Colonel Henry Doherty in 1934. The hotel was famous for its glamorous parties and notable guests, reportedly including the Duke of Alba and mobster Al Capone.


The Palm Beach Daily News issued dated February 16, 2026 printed an article titled The Biltmore at 100, from Glamourous Hotel to Prestigious Address.

"Its halls have been roamed by everyone from royals to Hollywood stars and by social and financial elites from July Garland, Dorothy Parker and Arthur Hammerstein.  When it debuted 100 years ago this month, it was Palm Beach's tallest building:  Rising 12 stories with an architectural design bookended by towers, it was reminiscent of what The Breakers looks like today, an iconic 1896 founded Palm Beach property. In February 1926, the oceanfront Breakers was temporarily absent .. still under construction after an all-consuming 1925 fire.  So imagine the awe when, just a stone's hurl west, the soaring Hotel Alba on the lake opened just after the midpoint of the Roaring '20s.  With a Spanish flair to its architecture, it was tall and stalwart and grand.

Known as The Palm Beach Biltmore condominum since 1981, it has been a sought-after residential property.  The town designated the building protected landmark in 1991. 



A by-invitation centennial celebration took place Feb. 5 at the lakeside property at 150 Bradley Place, a little more than a block north of Royal Poinciana Way.  Among those present at the centennial party was longtime Biltmore resident Ambassador Eric M. Javits who has wintered in Palm Beach for years including the stays of his childhood.  He recalls how his late parents likely were the first overnight guests on the property in 1926 and weeks before The Alba debuted on February 17. The opening event complete with two orchestras onsite included such chairpersons as then so-called Palm Beach society queen Eva Stotesbury, who lived on the island's then-most extravagant estate, El Mirasol with her financier husband, Edward.  

With 500-plus guest rooms, the massive twin-towered Alba had risen, phoenix-like on a six acre property.  "The Alba", a local reporter noted, "towers above all other Palm Beach hotels and clubs in its commanding position facing the palm-fringed city across the way" .. a reference to West Palm Beach.



Logo of Palm Beach Condominium on gate leading to dock on the intracoastal waterway.


Sunrise over the Biltmore Condominium





















Wednesday, March 18, 2026


 Hollywood Legends and Their Homes

.. let's start with Bing Crosby and Lucille Ball .. 



Bing Crosby's Home

1200 Jackling Drive

Hillsborough, California 


Bing Crosby's primary longtime residence was a 13,635-square-foot French chateau-style mansion.  The home sold for $25 million dollars in June 2025.  Built in 1929, the 5-acre estate was owned by the family for 60 years and featured 11 bedrooms, a pool converted to a lawn and a piano from Bing's movie, High Society with actress, Grace Kelly.

Crosby purchased the home in 1965 to raise his family away from Hollywood.  The property previously belonged to Seabiscuit race horse owner, Charles Howard.

Crosby also had a well-known desert home in the Palm Springs area.  It was situated in the exclusive Thunderbird Heights community.  The 6-bedroom, 5.5 baths with 6,700-square-foot, Moroccan-inspired estate. The property is known for its 1.36 acre lot, a 1,400-square-foot master bedroom, a professional kitchen and extensive panoramic views.  While associated with several homes in the area, the Calico Road home is the most prominent property often linked to him in the Coachella Valley. 


70375 Calico Road

Rancho Mirage


10500 Camarillo 

Toluca Lake, California 

Crosby owned this 20-room home near Hollywood from 1936-1943. Known as the "Bing Crosby Estate" he lived here with his first wife, Dixie Lee and their 4 sons. This property was rebuilt after a fire and has since been owned by several celebrities including the late, Andy Griffith.




Bing Crosby was honored with three stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame on February 8, 1960.  These stars recognized his massive contributions in three distinct categories:  Recording (6751 Hollywood Blvd.), Motion Pictures (1611 Vine Street) and Radio (6769 Hollywood Blvd.).




Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz Home

1000 North Roxbury Drive

Beverly Hills, California 


This is the home that Lucy and Desi purchased in 1954 for $80,000.  It is still standing today though modified from its 1936 original appearance.  Lucy lived here until her passing in 1989.  Roxbury Drive was the street of stars.  Jack Benny lived next door, Peter Falk lived down the street as did Betty Grable, George and Ira Gershwin and Jimmy Stewart.

Lucy's home decor style can be best described as a blend of elegance, warmth and a dash of fun reflecting her vibrant personality.  The home featured luxurious touches showcasing her love for classic elegance.  Lucy adored her outdoor spaces, particularly her beautifully landscaped garden where she would tend to plants and enjoy the sunshine.  Her home was filled with personal mementos showcasing her artistic passions and family life.  The interior of this home included the living room designed to blend comfort with style, reflecting her larger-than-life Hollywood persona. 

Notable features in her Roxbury Drive address included spacious rooms as the home had six bedrooms, seven bathrooms and spanned approximately 4,126 square feet.  The architectural style was a blend of 1930s elegance and modern design with a Mediterranean Revival style and Spanish-style architecture.  The ornate details featured arched doorways, wrought-iron details and intricate stucco work reflecting the era rich in artistic flair.  


Lucy's homes included a Palm Springs retreat which boasted mid-century modern charm with pops of color.

40241 Club View Drive

Rancho Mirage, California

Coachella Valley


Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz owned this ranch-style home in Palm Springs built near the 17th fairway in the gated Thunderbird Country Club.  It was "desert modern" or "open ranch" style featuring large patios and extensive floor-to-ceiling glass windows to merge indoors with outdoors, natural stone and decorative concrete walls creating an open, airy atmosphere. Designed for entertaining and privacy, the desert home featured a luxurious pool and according to lore, was built on a lot won by Desi in a poker game!  The home was a desert escape during the I Love Lucy years. 

It was designed by the most renowned black architect of the 20th century, Paul Revere Williams (1894-1980). Williams was known as the "Architect to the Stars" and was the first home completed in the country club development. An interesting fact is that Williams taught himself to draw upside down.  He retired in 1973 shaping the architectural look of Southern California from residential projects to commercial and municipal ones. He earned that "architect to the stars" tagline after designing homes during the Golden Age of Hollywood for a raft of A-list celebrities besides Lucille Ball which included Tyrone Power, Cary Grant, Frank Sinatra and silent movie legend, Lon Chaney. 

Architect Paul R. Williams in his Los Angeles office.

Photo: Julius Shulman

Williams' commercial buildings that came off his drawing board were Saks Fifth Avenue's flagship Beverly Hills store, the Los Angeles County Courthouse and landmark additions to LA's Beverly Hills Hotel. When Williams passed, he left behind a prolific portfolio of more than 3,000 buildings that included homes, hotels, banks, churches, hospitals and schools many of which have become Southern Caifornia icons.  

Williams also previously designed Lucy and Desi's home in the Chatsworth area of Los Angeles at 19700 Devonshire Street for $16,000 in 1941.  The property was on five-acres and called Desilu Ranch.  It was a secluded, rustic oasis featuring orange groves, a swimming pool, pool house and game room.  The ranch was known for its many animals including dogs, cats and a cow named the "Duchess of Devonshire". 

It sold in 1956 to actress Jane Withers and her husband, Kenneth Errair before its 1976 demolition for a housing development.  Sadly, it no longer exists as a landmark.




1194 North Via Miraleste

Del Mar, California

Another Palm Springs home associated with Lucy and Desi was located in the Movie Colony neighborhood.  Known as "Casa de Amigos", this Spanish Colonial-style property is often referenced in historical accounts of their time in the area.  Today, it is operated as a luxury rental property.  In July 2009, this "Old Hollywood" celebrity home opened its gates for events.  Property owner, Amber Willat and planning director, Gina Leslie have expanded its use to private and community events.  


After divorcing Lucille Ball in 1960, Desi Arnaz moved into their former summer home located at 1920 Ocean Front Drive in Del Mar, California. Based on reports and discussions involving Desi's daughter, Lucie Arnaz, the original home in Del Mar was torn down and replaced by two new properties.  While he did own a beachfront property there until his passing in 1986, the specific structure no long exists in its original form.

The coastal town served as a sanctuary for him where he frequently attended races at the Del Mar Racetrack, a passion he maintained alongside music.  This home was a significant, quieter alternative to their large, more public estates in Beverly Hills and in Chatsworth. Arnaz's connection to Del Mar began in the 1940s when he first visited the racetrack, a glamourous destination founded by Bing Crosby and frequented by Hollywood's biggest stars though for Desi, it wasn't just a social scene .. it was a true love affair with the sport.  He owned and bred thoroughbreds, frequently attending races and becoming a well-known figure at the Turf Club. Lucille Ball, too, shared in his love for Del Mar, often accompanying him to the races.  Photos from the era capture the couple in their element .. laughing in the grandstands, placing bets and rubbing shoulders with the Hollywood elite.  Their presence added to Del Mar's reputation as a playground for the stars, where the entertainment industry and California's coastal charm blended seamlessly. 

Del Mar Racetrack is where "the turf meets the surf" at 2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd.


Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz with a jockey at the track

Photo courtesy of Del Mar Thoroughbred Club


Desi Arnaz's home in Del Mar, a peaceful retreat with stunning beach views, reflected his Cuban heritage and mid-century modern style.  The iconic residence where he spent his final days.  The house featured a Mediterranean Revival design with stucco walls, red-tiled roofs and arched windows blending indoor and outdoor living spaces. His final days in the home were marked by a heartfelt phone call from his ex-wife, Lucille Ball, with whom he shared a deep and enduring connection.

Desi Arnaz's last words to Lucille Ball, spoken during their final phone call on their wedding anniversary in 1986 were "I love you, honey.  Good luck with your show" after she told him she loved him.  Their daughter, Lucie revealed this simple, tender exchange which offered closure and marked a moment of peace before Arnaz passed away from lung cancer two days later.  It was November 30, 1986 when Lucie Arnaz put the phone to her father's ear and Lucille Ball told him "I love you" multiple times. Desi replied with his loving farewell, followed by a wish for her future TV appearance. 

Lucille Ball was widely considered Desi Arnaz' true love, despite their famously tumultuous marriage and divorce with both acknowledging their deep bond and partnership even sharing passionate love letters, though his infidelity and struggles with alcohol led to their separation.  A devastating end to a love that built an empire but was ultimately complex and challenging.  


Lucy's Childhood Home

59 Lucy Lane

Celeron, New York 



 The Lucy House in New York State is located at 59 Lucy Lane (formerly 59 West Eighth Street) in Celoron, New York near Jamestown, NY.  Lucy's childhood home was meticulously restored to its original appearance by fans and owners, Mary and Bill Rapaport since 2005.  The restoration was with input from Lucy's brother, Fred Ball and cousin, Cleo Smith. The home features original elements like the original bathtub and linoleum, as well as lilac bushes in the backyard. Lucille Ball grew up here with her mother, brother and grandparents until 1927.

Lilacs for Lucy


This wall art now on display in Lucy's childhood home was painted by Michael Israel.*

*Michael Israel is a world-renowned artist based in Boca Raton, Florida.  Famous for his high-energy "art concerts" where he creates large-scale, realistic paintings in minutes using a "speed painting" technique often for charity events and celebrities raising millions for various causes.  His portfolio includes portraits of celebrities, musicians and historical figures, as well as cityscapes and patriotic themes.  He has performed for presidents, Olympic events and major corporations.  His work has been featured at prestigious venues like the Grimaldi Forum in Monte Carlo.

Michael has lived his motto:  "When Imagination Exceeds Reality, Dreams are Born!"

www.michaelisrael.com 



Lucille Ball was honored with two stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame on February 8, 1960.  She received one for her work in Motion Pictures (6436 Hollywood Blvd.) and one for Television (6104 Hollywood Blvd.). Miss Ball was among the inaugural group of entertainers honored when the walk was first installed.  This cemented her legacy for all time.  










Sunday, March 15, 2026



Pickfair
Beverly Hills, California 

The Rise and Fall of Old Hollywood's Most Famous Estate

Pickfair embodies the magic, grandeur and heartbreak of Hollywood's Golden Age.  It's the tale of Pickfair, the legendary estate of actress Mary Pickford and actor, Douglas Fairbanks, Sr. .. a home that was once the beating heart of the film industry's elite.  More than just a lavish mansion, Pickfair symbolized success, love and the power of a well-chosen piece of real estate though as with many Hollywood stories, its rise was followed by a dramatic fall.  


A Love Story Built in Brick and Stone

In 1919, silent film royalty Mary Pickford and Douglas Fairbanks were Hollywood's ultimate power couple. They were adored by millions, pioneers of the film industry and among the first actors to achieve global fame.  Their love story was the stuff of fairytales and when Fairbanks wanted to surprise Pickford with a home worthy of their status, he purchased a hunting lodge on a quiet, rolling hillside in Beverly Hills, an area just beginning to attract LA's elite.

Mary Pickford and Douglas Fairbanks were married to others when they first met, but eventually tied the knot on March 28, 1920 in what was called the "marriage of the century".  As a wedding gift, Fairbanks gave his bride,a combination of their last names, an 18-acre estate located at 1143 Summit Drive that would soon become the social epicenter of Hollywood's Golden Age.

With renowned architects Wallace Neff and Horatio Cogswell they transformed the home into a stunning 22-room English-style home featuring lead-glass windows, parquet floors, ceiling frescoes and two grand wings.  The estate boasted tennis courts, stables, a Western-style saloon and what is believed to be Los Angeles' first in-ground swimming pool where Pickford was famously photographed in a swimsuit in 1922.


Pickfair's Real Estate Success:  Why It Was a Dream Home

At its peak, Pickfair was more than just a home .. it was a symbol of success and aspiration.  The couple hosted legendary parties with guests including Charlie Chaplin, Albert Einstein, Amelia Earhart, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Greta Garbo and Winston Churchill.  

If  you were invited to Pickfair, you had truly arrived in Hollywood. 

Though beyond its glamour, Pickfair was a real estate success story for several key reasons. 

Prime Location ..  Beverly Hills in the 1920s was still being developed, but Pickford and Fairbanks' investment helped transform the neighborhood into the most desirable real estate in Los Angeles.  Their presence alone attracted other stars, turning Beverly Hills into the celebrity haven it remains today. 

Star Power & Branding .. Their home wasn't just a house .. it was an icon.  The couple's fame added immense prestige to the property.  Today, we'd call this celebrity-driven real estate value where a home associated with a famous name can command a premium price tag.

Customization & Expansion .. Fairbanks knew that a grant estate needed to stand out.  By expanding and remodeling the home to fit their needs, they made sure it was a one-of-a-kind property.  Custom features like the massive reception hall and ornate fireplaces added character and luxury. 

Timeless Architecture & Amenities .. The estate had everything a star could want .. privacy, vast entertaining spaces and beautifully designed gardens. It was ahead of its time with features that modern luxury buyers still seek today.


Then .. The Decline of Pickfair .. What Went Wrong?

Fairbanks and Pickford were Hollywood's golden couple .. until they weren't.  By the late 1920s, Fairbanks' career began to fade and he sought excitement elsewhere. He started traveling frequently and rumors of affairs surfaced.  In 1936, Pickford and Fairbanks divorced, shattering the fairytale.  After the divorce, Pickford kept Pickfair, but the magic that once filled the estate was gone.  While Fairbanks remarried and spent his final years traveling the world with his new wife, Pickford remained at Pickfair though life there was no longer the same. Once the heart of Hollywood's social scene, Pickfair grew quieter over the years.  Pickford remarried as well, sharing the home with her husband, Charles "Buddy" Rogers, but the grand parties and glamorous gatherings became a thing of the past.  As time went on, the estate became less a symbol of Hollywood's golden age and more a relic of a bygone era, standing as a reminder of a love story that had unraveled.

Pickfair's story is a testament to how a home is more than just bricks and mortar .. it holds the energy of its past. For some, staying in a beloved home brings comfort, while for others, it may be a painful reminder of what was lost. After Pickford passed in 1979, the estate was put on the real estate market.  The new buyer was actress and singer, Pia Zadora.  She and her billionaire husband, Meshulam Riklis (1923-2019) purchased it in 1988.  Riklis was an Israeli financier and businessman. 

What happened next stunned Hollywood.


The Controversial Demolition of Pickfair

Soon after purchasing the estate, Zadora demolished the mansion, claiming it was "too dilapidated to restore".  She also "alleged" the house was haunted, saying she "experienced strange occurrences inside". The news sent shockwaves through Hollywood.  The idea that a property as historic as Pickfair had been completely erased enraged preservationists.  It was a reminder that even legendary estates can vanish if not protected.  

In its place, Zadora and Riklis built a new, modern mansion with a drastically different aesthetic and lived there until they divorced in 1993. Despite its luxury, the home never carried the same charm or cultural weight.  When they later sold the property, it didn't command nearly as much value as expected.  Why?  Because it was no longer Pickfair.  It was just another large estate in Beverly Hills like all the rest. 

Pickford's name gave the estate prestige, but once it was gone .. its mystique disappeared as well.

Pickfair's architectural style was mock tudor. Pickfair had 4 levels and 25 rooms.  Construction started in 1919 and was completed in 1920.  It was demolished 70 years later in 1990.


Final Thoughts:  The Legacy of Pickfair

Pickfair was more than just a home .. it was a Hollywood dream.  It showcased the power of branding, location and timing in real estate.  It also served as a cautionary tale about how real estate must evolve with the times .. or risk losing its relevance.  Even today, Pickfair is remembered as one of LA's most famous lost estates, proving that real estate isn't just about land and buildings .. it's about stories, legacies and emotions they evoke.  

Would Pickfair have been worth more today if it had been preserved?  Almost certainly.  In real estate, legacy sells and homes with a story often attract the highest value.



This story on my blog was chosen to be published today because the 98th Academy Award honoring the best films of 2025 is being held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood on this date, March 15, 2026.  The ceremony will be broadcast live on ABC hosted by Conan O'Brien.  

Enjoy and Remember Pickfair!



Oscar


Sidenote:  Lucille Ball stated that she and husband, Desi Arnaz were inspired by the combination of names in Pickfair to name their own estate (and later studio) Desilu.




















adly, it was demolished when purchased by Pia Zadora.

Friday, March 13, 2026

 


"I couldn't give up on the Michigan Central Station."

Bill Ford, executive chair of Ford Motor Co.

.. great grandson of founder, Henry Ford ..


Bill Ford was the visionary behind the resurrection of the train station at 2001 15th Street in an area of Detroit known as Corktown, abandoned since 1988.  The site is seared into the memories of soldiers and their families who went off to war and came home on the those trains. The grand reopening was June 6 and drew tens of thousands of onlookers.

Ford spent $950 million to develop the 30-acre campus, transforming and redeveloping multiple properties in Corktown.  Despite the costly and overwhelming obstacles, Ford said he never could have given up and shut down the effort begun after the company purchased the train station back in 2018.  The difficult restoration work began with millions of gallons of water in the basement.

Bill Ford looked around at the historic waiting room of Michigan Central Station, now called the Grand Hall, a once-crumbling building restored to its 1913 grandeur.  The floor is polished marble, the columns stone.  This is what Ford's mother saw when she took the train to see her sister in New York so many years ago.

The restoration of Michigan Central Station preserved select pieces of graffiti from its decades of vacancy alongside the historic structure.  Ford Motor Company worked with local artists to identify and save significant, high-quality art pieces to honor the building's history which are now on display during public tours.


Graffiti Preservation:  While much of the building was cleaned, specific, notable graffiti art was curated and protected rathr than painted over.

Balancing History:  The project aimed to balance the Beaux-Arts splendor with the "ruin" era, making the graffiti a part of the building's story.

Restoration Effort:  The restoration project took over six years to complete. The station closed in 1988 and stood open to the elements for nearly three decades.  This is why the multimillion-dollar restoration of the 1913 historic depot includes spray-painted images and messages left inside the building when it had no roof, no windows, no heat and no locked doors to keep people from trespassing. 

Ford "wanted to acknowledge the past" so it curated and kept graffiti from the train  station's decades of dereliction. 


Why was the Michigan Central Station abandoned?

During WWII,  the station was used heavily by military troops.  After the war, with a growth in automobile ownership people used trains less frequently for vacation or other travel. Today, under a new partnership involving the State of Michigan, the city of Detroit and the operators of Michigan Central, a new transportation hub could begin operating by 2029.  This would include Amtrak service. 


Michigan Central Station











Thursday, March 12, 2026

 

Coca-Cola Glasco GBV-50 Slider

Circa 1958



Model 130000

The Glasco GBV-50 Slider is an iconic 1950s vintage Coca-Cola slider vending machine known for its compact chest-type design.  These machines feature a mechanical, manual slide-and-release system that held 50 (6-12 oz) bottles by the neck in a chilled wet bath, along with space to pre-cool 60 more bottles, making them highly sought after collectibles for garages or game rooms.

Often called the "slider" because users slide bottles along 5 perpendicular trails each holding 10 bottles to release the mechanism. A manual, coin-operated system that, in original form, sold bottles for 10 cents.

The Glasco GBV50 Slider or Glasco Starlet (its marketing name) is a cooler and vending machine with a chromed top lid with a chrome handle first introduced by Glasco in 1957. On the front, it had the fishtail Coca-Cola logo used after 1958 on some machines. This also had a bottle opener and catcher on the front left side and a Glasco metal plate logo near the top right corner. 

 This is a chest-type cooler adapted to release bottles manually with a coin entry plate to the left side of the machine. To use it, you had to open the lid to pick your selection, deposit your coin that would mechanically allow you to release the bottle inside and then slide the drink to a butterfly-type release.

It had a very simple chest design on the outside, while on the inside it was mechanically complex.  This vending machine was produced from 1957 until 1962. 








Wednesday, March 11, 2026

 


Unique Carousels that will Spin You Back in Time.


The bright colors, rows of lights and organ music make boarding a carousel feel like entering a magical portal.  While technology becomes increasingly complex, the relatively simple carousel persists, transporting us back in time.

From the late 19th century to the early 20th century is considered the goldlen age of carousels, most built by companies around the United States including Herschell-Spillman, the Philadelphia Toboggan Company and Gustav Dentzel Company.  Still, people continue to build new carousels and refurbish old ones, often as a community effort. And many of us still love to ride them!

What makes a carousel great?  It's part artistry, part music and the lights.  Sometimes it's the nostalgia invoked by a century-old historic carousel, thinking of all the thousands (maybe millions?) who have circled the platform before you.  Other times, it's the creativity that goes into the shiny steeds.  some of us carousel lovers experience great excitement when seeing an animal we've never seen represented.


Dorothea Laub Balboa Park Carousel

San Diego, California 


This carousel is a lovingly restored 1910 gem spinning just steps from the San Diego Zoo. With hand-carved animals, a vintage band organ and with one of the last brass ring* games in the country, it's a whimsical nostalgic ride that delights kids and grown-ups alike. 

*A brass ring is a small, grabble ring that a dispenser presents to a carousel rider during the course of a ride. These dispensers are filled with a large number of iron or steel rings with a single brass ring or a few brass rings.  Typically, a brass ring can be traded for a prize, when is often a free repeat ride.  Although they were standard features for carousels during their heyday in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, brass ring dispensers are now rare.  The figurative phrase to "grab the brass ring" is derived from this device. 


"It used to be that you'd fall off a horse reaching for a ring, pick yourself up and get back on.  These days you fall off, pick yourself up and go to the nearsest attorney."

Carol Perron of the Perron family, historic carousel preservationists

Circa 1990

Although there are many carousels in operation today, those that still use brass ring dispenseres are very rare.  The need for carousel riders to position themselves at wide angles to reach for rings from a ring dispensing arm often leads to lost balance and falls off the ride, leading to personal injury lawsuits and hence their avoidance by most modern operators. 


Kiddie Park Carousel

San Antonio, Texas


San Antionio's historic Kiddie Park which claims to be the oldest children's amusement park in America, has an incredible collection of century-old amusement rides including the Herschell-Spillman hand-carved carousel. Built in 1918 for traveling carnivals, it features 36 wood "jumping" horses and two chariots, each horse uniquely carved and painted with some having real horsehair tails. 


City Park Carousel

New Orleans, Louisiana


New Orleans' carousel history dates back to at least 1848 with early mentions in the Picayune newspaper of a riverfront ride and a steam-powered carousel featured at the 1884 World's Industrial and Cotton  Centennial Exposition. Today, the city's most iconic example is the 1910 carousel in City Park, known affectionately as the Flying Horses. Housed in a grand, 10-sided Victorian pavilion adorned with stained glass, the hand-carved horses (each with real horsehair tails) continue to delight generations.  Both the carousel and its historic shelter are on the National Register of Historic Places.



Riverfront Carousel

Salem, Oregon


Volunteers built Salem's Riverfront Carousel from the ground up.  Salem residents who financially sponsored the carousel could choose an animal and give design input.  You can ride some eclectic animals like "Mr. Hopkins", a frog wielding a tennis racket or Ramses, the smiling great white shark. "Mr. Hopkins" is a popular, whimsical figure on the Oregon carousel.  He was specifically designed to reflect the personality of the late Don Hopkins who was a longtime carousel supporter and is intended for riders 55 inches or shorter and is built to sit on the inside row.  The frog's design features a tennis racket and a fishing pole, reflecting the personality of the real Mr. Hopkins.



Carol Ann's Carousel

Cincinnati, Ohio


The community-fueled carousel opened in Cincinnati's Smale Riverfront Park in 2015.  Following a $5 million donation from Carol Ann and Ralph Haile, Ohio's Carousel Works built Carol Ann's Carousel.  This carousel is a year-round, indoor carousel featuring 44 hand-carved, Cincinnati-themed figurres inside a glass pavilion with views of the river and skyline enjoyable in any weather. The carousel has scenes painted by local artists.  The gift from the Carol Ann and Ralph V. Haile, Jr./U.S. Bank Foundation is a popular attraction with a small fee per ride, offering a nostalgic experience with modern amenities like air conditioning during summer months.  It's a great addition to a day out at the riverfront with nearby parks, fountains and other attractions.